crg _1984_Gabriele_Tarquini crg_1992_Danilo_Rossi crg maxter _2012_Jordon_LennoxLamb max verstappen KZ-CIK-FIA-World-Karting-Championship-KZ-Varennes-2013 rennes photo IMGP2882

Sarno will house the KZ World Championship and the International Super Cup KZ2 next 12 October, in a world race that CRG has won many times. The first title dates back to Tarquini’s success in 1984 and the last was secured by Verstappen in 2013.

The final round of the 2014 CIK-FIA World Championships season will involve the KZ World Championship and the KZ2 International Super Cup to be held next 12 October in Sarno. Among the main protagonists, CRG has always been a leader in this category taking on track a lot of champions, starting from Gabriele Tarquini back in 1984 to Max Verstappen in 2013.

CRG historically got a lot of success winning 11 titles including World Championships, World Cups with shifter karts in the categories Formula C, Super ICC, KZ1 and KZ2, plus 25 titles won with direct drive karts, setting the absolute record of 36 titles since 1984.


The long series of CRG titles in World Championships with shifter karts started in 1984 with Gabriele Tarquini in Formula C on Kalì-Kart/Balen/Dunlop. The Italian driver claimed the first win for CRG on September 9th at the track of Axamo in Sweden, in the very same year that CRG and Jorn Haase won the world title with direct drive karts at the Formula K World Championship held in Liedolsheim (Germany), this time on Kalì-Kart/Komet/Dunlop.

The following year, Piermario Cantoni on Kalì-Kart/Balen/Dunlop, won the World Championship of Formula C in Laval, France, on September 1st 1985.

In 1989 Gianluca Giorgi awarded CRG with a nice Formula C win in Czech Republic on September 3rd in Olomouc, on Kalì-Kart powered by Kalì fitting Dunlop tires.

CRG continued to be absolute protagonist. In 1992 the fourth world title of Formula C was brought to the team by Danilo Rossi, on CRG/Pavesi/Dunlop, on September 6th in Mariembourg (Belgium).

The following year, that is 1993, the three times world champion with other brands Alessandro Piccini, was victorious with CRG in the World Championship held at the Italian circuit of Val Vibrata, race run on September 5th on Kalì Kart/Pavesi/Dunlop.

From 2003 the title for shifter karts became World Cup but the substance did not change, the strongest drivers in the world kept challenging each other on shifter karts, that are the most performing karts and those with the highest number of fans.

In 2007 CRG started Jonathan Thonon’s era in a winning CRG-Maxter couple on September 2nd at the KZ1 World Cup of Sarno.

Thonon repeated himself with another win in France in 2008 at the race held in Varennes on September 7th, again in KZ1, on CRG/Maxter/Dunlop.

Thonon won again in Sarno’s World Cup of 2009 on CRG/Maxter/Dunlop, obtaining in this way the third world title in a row.

The Belgian Champion in force at CRG secured the fourth win in the KZ1 World Championship in 2011 on September 4th at Genk (Belgium), at the end of a spectacular comeback race won at the sprint to the line by Thonon on CRG/Maxter/Dunlop.

In 2012 Jordon Lennox-Lamb won the KZ2 World Cup in Sarno on CRG/Maxter/Vega, as CRG celebrated the 10th world title with shifter karts.

2013 has been Max Verstappen’s year. The young Dutch driver awarded CRG with the eleventh world title at the KZ World Championship on CRG/Tm/Bridgestone, on September 22nd in Varennes (France). In the occasion, Verstappen, not yet 16 years old, set a new record for being the youngest World Champion of the category.


Edition 2014 of the World Championship is scheduled in Sarno from 9 to 12 October. CRG works team will be composed by Davide Forè, Jordon Lennox-Lamb, Felice Tiene and Jorrit Pex in KZ. The colors of the Italian firm will be defended by Fabian Federer, Pedro Hiltbrand, Sidney Gomez, Sabré Cook, Giovanni Martinez, André Reinhard and Joey Winsett in KZ2 instead.

CIK-FIA World Championship KZ (and similar categories)

2013: Max Verstappen (NL), KZ, CRG / TM / Bridgestone
Varennes, 22.09.13

2012: Jordon Lennox-Lamb (GB), KZ2 (World Cup), CRG / Maxter / Vega
Sarno, 02.09.12

2011: Jonathan Thonon (B), KZ1 (World Cup), CRG / Maxter / Dunlop
Genk, 04.09.11

2009: Jonathan Thonon (B), KZ1 (World Cup), CRG / Maxter / Dunlop
Sarno, 06.09.09

2008: Jonathan Thonon (B), KZ1 (World Cup), CRG / Maxter / Dunlop
Varennes, 07.09.08

2007: Jonathan Thonon (B), KZ1 (World Cup), CRG / Maxter / Dunlop
Sarno, 02.09.07

1993: Alessandro Piccini (I), FC 125 cc, CRG-Kalì-Kart / Pavesi / Dunlop
Val Vibrata, 05.09.93

1992: Danilo Rossi (I), FC 125 cc, CRG / Pavesi / Dunlop
Mariembourg, 06.09.92

1989: Gianluca Giorgi (I), FC 125 cc, CRG-Kalì-Kart / Kalì-Kart / Dunlop
Olomouc, 03.09.89

1985: Piermario Cantoni (I), FC 125 cc, CRG-Kalì-Kart / Balen / Dunlop
Laval, 01.09.85

1984: Gabriele Tarquini (I), FC 125 cc, CRG-Kalì Kart / Balen / Dunlop
Axamo, 09.09.84

CRG kart

MAXTER engines

Votre commentaire

Choisissez une méthode de connexion pour poster votre commentaire:


Vous commentez à l’aide de votre compte Déconnexion /  Changer )

Photo Google

Vous commentez à l’aide de votre compte Google. Déconnexion /  Changer )

Image Twitter

Vous commentez à l’aide de votre compte Twitter. Déconnexion /  Changer )

Photo Facebook

Vous commentez à l’aide de votre compte Facebook. Déconnexion /  Changer )

Connexion à %s